New member (sort of)

karatekid1975

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Hiya all. I'm not karatekid. I'm just using her computer. My name is Ann, and I'm interested Shotokan. I have my first intro class next week. karatekid told me a lot about the martial arts (which I've been interested in for years, but didn't have the guts to start till she talked me into it, and found me a school near me). But she does Korean MA. I was wondering about forms (she says hyung, but I think here you say kata). I watched her do them and I fell in love with forms. I was wondering what the names of the forms you do. Or post a website or two for me to look at :) I'll get karatekid to help me with looking up the website (I'm NOT good with computers ..... she's helping me as we speak :D ). I'll be here all weekend, so post a way :D

Thank in advance

Ann

Kempojujutsu

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Ann, Shotokan Karate uses Okinawa kata's. The main kata's are Pinan Shodan, Pinan Nidan, Pinan Sandan, Pinan Yondan, Pinan Godan, Naihanchi Shodan, Naihanchi Nidan, Naihanchi Sandan, Bassai. There are plenty more but this should get you started. You can use the search engine for each kata and find plenty more info on each kata. I found a site that have video clips at www.shorinryu.dk/html/kata.htm One thing you have to remember is not everyone does the same kata the exact way.
Bob:asian:

OP
karatekid1975

karatekid1975

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Thanks. That was helpful. Karatekid said she knows three of those forms from TSD (pinan=pyung ahn .... ok I'm a rookie, but I'm guessing this means the same thing in different languages). They look the same as the ones she showed me, except slight differences. But that's cool. I have a feeling I will love those forms :D

LOL karatekid said to wait till I learn Bassai LOL. Ok, she said that's her favorite, eventhough she never learned it.

Ann

Cthulhu

Senior Master
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score