new here,couple of questions.

blan89

White Belt
Reaction score
firstly hello everyone,these look like good forums and i look forward to reading what's written here.

my first question is how long would be normal to train before competing?

and secondly how much would you say you should be training in the run up to a fight?

the reason i ask is because i've been training for 5 months and have a fight lined up in 2 months and i don't think i'm near fit enough and also feel like i've got a lot learn still especially with the knees and elbows which i have only ever practiced on the pads and bags so far.

ks - learning to fly

Senior Master
Reaction score
imo - Although you didn't mention your particular martial art, I'd say - give it a go!:) Tournaments are an excellent way to gauge your progress and a great learning tool! Plus, if you've been training consistently for 5 months - soon to be 7 - you're probably fitter than you think:) also, do you get a chance to spar during classes? I would think that would be a part of your regular training if you have a fight scheduled soon..

***bows*** Kris

Steve

Mostly Harmless
Reaction score
I'd say listen to your coach. 2 months is enough time to get into shape, but I also don't train may Thai, so take that for what it is. :)

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

OP
B

blan89

White Belt
Reaction score
thanks for the replies,the art is muay thai.

i do spar regularly with much better/more experienced fighters than myself,yes.

steve93

White Belt
Reaction score