New EPAK student in Northern California

Jenny_in_Chico

Black Belt
Reaction score
Howdy!

I'm new to MT and martial arts as well. I began my training last October in Indiana, where I studied TKD. I managed to achieve a camouflage belt level. At that point I finished university, and moved to northern California to be close to my family.

I researched some TKD schools here, but nothing was really clicking for me...so I decided to expand my search and include other martial arts. I visited an American Kenpo dojo and watched an advanced class of brown and black belts training, and was BLOWN AWAY. Immediately I sensed that kenpo would suit my personal style and movement much better than TKD ever did (I'm short and very powerful and aggressive for a woman, but have trouble with high kicks). I joined the dojo that week and never looked back.

That was in June. I'll be testing for my yellow belt in late September. I train at the dojo 3 times a week, but haven't amped up my training to include working on my own yet. I love my dojo and the people I train with...which are mostly men, as I am one of only 3 women in the dojo. I'm tremendously happy with my choice, and I've joined MT to learn more about the practice of EPAK.

Jenny

just2kicku

Black Belt
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hello and Welcome! Good luck in your journey

Hawke

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Hey Jenny,

Welcome to Martial Talk!

American Kenpo is awesome. You will have to do some adjustments like the front stance, but you will recognize the moves and easily adapt.

I really enjoy the technique lines to practice on a wide arrangement of people.

Bull in the ring is also fun.

Prepare to be bombarded with lots of concepts.

We also have a sister site: http://kenpotalk.com/

When you get the chance watch The Perfect Weapon. It's a cheesy 80's flick that show cases American Kenpo.

OP
Jenny_in_Chico

Jenny_in_Chico

Black Belt
Reaction score
Hey Jenny,

Welcome to Martial Talk!