My style introduction...

L

Laevolus

Well, at the request of Arnisador (did I spell that right?) I thought I'd use this forum to give a brief description about the style I train in.

It's basically a freestyle MA based around Wing Chun with elemnts of lots of other styles mixed in as well, such as Western Boxing, Ju Jitsu and Aikido.

The style is called Black Cat Do and was designed by our chief instructor, Ian Winter. It's very much a style of self defence rather than sport and the basic tenets behind it are things like evasion and quick finish. He chose the rather unfortunate name as he is English and wanted an English name for it.

It's difficult for me to describe the history of it much as I don't know a lot yet, but I will do soon as I am designing the website for the club and this will be one of the pages.

I've been training in it for about 3 years now, although I did take about a year off after the birth of my daughter, and I've just recently passed my second grading :D

I love the style as a lot of it is very intelligent and it's constantly evolving with the several instructors always looking at the movces to see if they are practical and how they can be improved and it very much emphasises using what works best for you rather than following a strict pattern.

It does have a belt grading system, leading up to the inevitable balck belt and beyond into the Dan grades. Personally, I would love to reach the black belt grade (as I believe that's when I would truly start to learn) but I'm not sure if I ever will, what with my advancing age (I'm 30 now!! :( )

I'll be glad to answer any questions about it, but I can't always promise a good answer as I'm still learning about it all myself, but then, aren't we all?

thanks for listening...
Laev.

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Sounds a lot like Jeet Kune Do! I take it the emphasis is on punching, as opposed to kicking or grappling?

OP
L

Laevolus