My First Jujitsu Class! V2

MattofSilat

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Hey there everyone.

The title may be a bit misleading, as today I had my second Jujitsu class, but calling it 'My second Jujitsu Class' would be a slight bit stupid.

Basically, I got my Gi today. It's a bit big, but I like it. I won't write a big essay today, I'm just going to voice my opinion and see what you think.

Despite displaying itself as Traditional Jujitsu, today we learnt some Aikido and Judo with it. It does appear that it is a hybrid between the three. I have no complaints against this, and I don't want everyone to slow down because of me, but I'm combining moves from three styles (Many of the moves I have never done or seen before) in a display of Blocks -> Strike -> Lock -> Throw (Normally). Does this not sound a slight bit much to somebody who recieved his white belt today... I keep on getting confused on the Blocking part, which is the basic core of seemingly every technique we do.

Our class consists of : Warmups, Practice 3-4 techniques (Well, I guess you could call it Katas, it's the sequence above) for about 10-12 minutes each, then leave. That's basically it.

I'm happy with the way in which these strings of techniques are learnt, don't get me wrong, they seem applicable in self-defense and the instructors teach us how to do it once, but I have never used any of these moves before. Then I have to string 4 of them together for 10 minutes, then won't use them again for a while. To be fair, we always seemed to end on the 'Shoulder Back Throw' today, but the methods of getting there are very different in the sequences. This is where the main issue lies. Is it really reasonable to expect a white belt of two hours experience in martial arts to remember a string of four never-before practiced techniques over the course of 10 minutes.