Muscles?

stonewall1350

Blue Belt
Reaction score
I am just curious what muscles would be good to lift for while I am in BJJ? I am a fairly strong guy, but not in the write sections to gain any muscle edge. I realize BJJ is a flexibility thing and so too much muscle would get in the way, but I do know that I need to work on my abs. So I am just curious if I should be doing like bicep/forearms/chest press type lifting? As it stands I am a big guy(6'0 230 or so). Any help would be welcome. I keep asking this questions and I just like to get the variety of answers cause I am still very knew.

eagles51593

White Belt
Reaction score
Well, first, remember if your muscling through a technique, you are doing it wrong. This is something I preach to my guys. You want to stay relaxed and be able to flow.

But, lifting can help you, and you can use strength to add to your technique. Strength will matter when technique is equal. Now, I'm no expert on lifting weights, but try to hit the big muscle groups. With the help of a friend of mine who is a professional fighter and personal trainer, I've been keeping on a basic power lifting routine and have been seeing great results.

For the first 6 weeks of my program it was just basic Benching, Squats, Deadlifts, Pull Ups, and Military Presses. Mondays would be bench and squat, wednesdays would be bench and dead lifts, and fridays would be military press and pull ups. Then we built varied plans to build off those base exercises. Now my list of exercises goes on and on.

Hope my post was helpful in some way. Good luck!

mcmoon

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
i follow a book called the "homeworkout plan" and its pretty good...iv never really been big or anything but iv gained about 6 pounds of muscle in 4 weeks which for me at least is pretty good...i did most of the workout before but i didnt take in the protein requirements and the gains werent as great but if u follow it then it works