Muscle Memory - How Many Reps

Kanoy919

Green Belt
Reaction score
Greetings All!

Has anybody heard any mention of how many repititions a technique needs to be done before you have built up great muscle memory for that technique? I guess hours would also do as I could calculate by multiplying hours x approx. reps/hour.

I'm just starting out (first class was last week). I was practicing a couple basic moves that I was taught and I just set a goal to repeat them 500 times a day until my next class(which is once a week for now). On my way to work, I started to think that somebody must have a rough number that I could use in my training and that number should be close to what is required to build up some great muscle memory (e.g., 30,000).

I'm not sure if I'm asking a valid question or not. Just asking it makes me also think about the time portion of the equation. If I repeated a technique 30,000 in 30 years(example), does that mean I have built up muscle memory for that technique?

Your thoughts?

Just curious!

SFC JeffJ

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Not a WC practioner myself, but I've always been told and have read somewhere between 5,000 and 10,000 times. Correctly.

Jeff

Andrew Green

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I don't think it is that simple...

How many times must you use long division for it to become natural? I'd like a number? How many times did you sign your name before it became automatic? See the point?

Be careful with the 500 a day, that seems too high for most people. You'll fatigue and get sloppy, better off doing 50 proper rather then 500 if you want to improve.

OP
Kanoy919

Kanoy919

Green Belt
Reaction score
Andew,

Yes, I see your point, but I do think that you can build muscle memory by repeating something many times. Or, at least teach your body how to do/react.