Muay Thai Training Camps in Thailand, recommendations and thoughts

jamesm

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi there, im from London and have dabbeled in a few martial arts judo, aikido, and am currently doing aiki-jujitsu, of which i am a beginner on all.

Since taking up aiki jujitsu recently though ive really got into the whole martial arts thing, after browsing around i saw these Muay Thai traing camps and though I HAVE TO DO THIS. It is the perfect opportunity as i will be leaving uni and before i start a career i can take time to go to a camp full time.

I have never done muay thai before, but going to a camp to do say 6mth intensive training seems hard work but im guessing one would develop the skills very quickly is this true?

Lastly I wanted recommedations of any camps i have read posts about Fairtex but it seems a little bit mainstream and was wondering whether some of the smaller camps might be better? There seems to be lots in Phuket and they all seem good some even offer MMA as well as Muay thai thoughts on that as well please.

thanks

thaistyle

Blue Belt
Reaction score
My instructor goes to Fairtex often and speaks highly of them. Fairtex has a great reputation and they produce quality fighters too. I've heard that Galaxy Gym is good. Tiger Muay Thai camp and Rawai Muay Thai are good but most of the ones in Phuket are geared towards the tourist but the training is still good. The World Muay Thai Council has a camp in Koh Samoi. If I had the amount of time you mentioned, I would check into the Muay Chaiya Foundation camp under Kru Preang. You won't be disappointed.

Thunder Foot

Brown Belt
Reaction score
I recommend Sasiprapa in Bangkok. When I go to Thailand, I want to also visit Por.Pramuk. I'm curious to how good the camp its, away from Buakaw. Also, it depends on if you are planning on fighting while you are in Thailand. Training in Thailand, is alot different from training to fight in Thailand. Just my opinion. :asian:

thaistyle

Blue Belt