might be starting a grappling club

Blindside

Grandmaster
Founding Member
Reaction score
I'm a kenpo instructor, and a couple of students have indicated interest in starting a grappling class. We don't have anyone qualified to teach, and there is no one else teaching in the area. Of the instructors in my school, I am the only one with any experience, about a year of BJJ, which puts me somewhere above a complete noob and well below competance. I suggested that if we do this, it should be more of a club atmosphere rather than a class ('cause we don't have an instructor), and we'll just rent from the school owner for time in the studio.

This town (Green River) has a reputation for the wrestlers it turns out, and is a consistent state title winner. As a result there are ALOT of wrestlers out in the local population and it sounds like some portion of them are very interested in the submission wrestling. One of the kenpo students who wants to start the class/club has been coaching and teaching wrestling, but doesn't know a thing about submission.

Given this situation, does anyone have suggestions for a training curricullum and areas to focus on? Also training aids such as videos and the like would be helpful. I don't really see myself seeking out live instruction in this, I've already got my plate full in that respect, but I've got the contacts down in Salt Lake City to refer club members to if they are interested.

Any advice would be helpful, thanks,

Lamont

Andrew Green

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Let the wrestlers teach the takedowns ;)

I hear Roy Harris's stuff is really good for getting started, but have not personally seen it.

Spend lots of time sparring, and working isolated sparring, and only work a handful of different techniques in a class. Often only one once you add some set ups and escapes.

Encourage everyone to look to outside sources and share what they know.