Martial Art Photography

sjrwheeler

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi all,
i am a student of Martial Arts, but i am also studying for a degree in photography.
i am concentrating on martial arts for my final year project and have already explored many areas i find interesting. I am now planning on photographing how martial arts becomes a part of every day life, starting with the more obvious ideas of habbits picked up such as bowing when entering any random room, and moving into the ideas of how martial arts can help you in situations not usually related, such as using a stance to ballance on a bus.
i already have several interesting ideas, but nowhere near enough to build a project out of it.
if anyone here can offer me any help or suggestions of what parts of martial arts blend over into other areas of your life i would be very grateful.
Cheers,
Sam

charyuop

Black Belt
Reaction score
I think most of us, if not all of us, integrate MA in our daily life. Stences or principles used at work, at home or anywhere is something very common.
If you think of it, after all MA teaches you how to use your body in a more proficient way and teaches you how to be more accostumed of the way your body moves.

The problem is...I doubt many of us has had pictures taken while doing these things. Actually most of the times I don't even thing we do realize we are using what we have learnt in a dojo.

MA-Caver

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I think most of us, if not all of us, integrate MA in our daily life. Stances or principles used at work, at home or anywhere is something very common.
If you think of it, after all MA teaches you how to use your body in a more proficient way and teaches you how to be more accustomed of the way your body moves.