Making music

Flea

Beating you all over those fries!
MT Mentor
Reaction score
This has nothing to do with martial arts, but .. what the hell.

After entirely too many years out of the field, I finally dusted off my larynx and auditioned for a concert choir. I'm a pretty good musician. I've always been the strong dependable voice in any challenging harmonies. But that was a long time ago. After I got in, I was informed that the crowning jewel of this season would be Benjamin Britten's War Requiem.

Basically, the whole thing is one big augmented 4th that lasts over an hour. I've been the aural equivalent of a deer in the headlights at many rehearsals. After sweating it out, I come home and listen to the full score - choir, boy choir, soloists, full orchestra, chamber orchestra - and shiver with awe at the full effect. I have a very long way to go before I feel ready for next month's concert, but this is by far the most rewarding piece I've ever had the honor to share.

The whole work is over an hour, but here's the movement we worked on tonight. I've always enjoyed Britten's work, but this is my first exposure to his serious stuff. Enjoy.

Last edited by a moderator:

Langenschwert

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Wow, that's badass.

I've always loved Peter Grimes, though I'm not familiar with Britten's whole body of work. You might enjoy Messiaen (my teacher's teacher's teacher ;)), lots of tritones used as a dominant rather than a fifth.

I used to listen to 45 minutes of Anton Webern every day. 12-tone goodness!

Kudos to you for performing such a challenging score!

Best regards,

-Mark

OP
Flea

Flea

MT Mentor
Reaction score
Wow, that's badass.

I used to listen to 45 minutes of Anton Webern every day. 12-tone goodness!

Best regards,

-Mark