MA Question from guy with back problems...

J

jcraigking

Hey everyone. I studied WTF Tae Kwon Do for about a year (10 yrs ago)before moving to Nevada and reached the fourth belt. Once I moved my schedule didn't allow me to continue and I did not find a WTF studio near where I was. Now I'd like to start up again, but some things have changed...

- I have a fused disk in my back reducing flexability. I was not very
flexible to begin with, but now the high kicking would be nearly
impossible.
- I have another slightly injured disk. I can do things like basketball... Just
can't lift. Doc' says if it doesn't hurt, I can do it.
- My goal now is mostly fitness oriented.
- I am interested in "traditional" arts but not necessarily the
philosophy/religious aspects that come with some.

Let's assume that I can find any common form of MA within a short drive here in Las Vegas...

I'd like to hear suggestions of a few arts to look into considering the above. I'd continue WTF TKD in a heartbeat if I could gain flexability to handle the kicking, but I don't know if that is realistic.

Thanks
Craig

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
If you're interested in it and motivated to do, do it. I don't have back problems myself (I tend toward knee problems - just as bad in TKD), but I knew a man who earned his III and IV Dan AFTER having discs fused in his back. I also have a student who had back surgery after several years of a dealing with a back injury (from working on his house, not TKD); after the surgery he earned his I Dan. My student doesn't do things that cause him pain or worsens his injury, although he tries - but I won't let him reinjure himself, at least not in class; what he does working on his house is between him and his wife and kids!