Kyuki-do

Ash_MT

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm new to martial arts in general, but have been a lurker on this forum for a while as they've always interested me. I started taking Kyuki-do classes recently and hadn't seen any posts on the forum about it, so I was curious if there were any other practitioners on the board.

Also, I'm looking to possibly put a little practice studio in my house with an unused room I have, anyone have any suggestions on good mats, and where to buy them from? Thanks in advance!

shesulsa

Columbia Martial Arts Academy
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I have not, until this moment, ever heard of Kyuki-Do, so I googled it. Sounds like a combination martial art that incorprates Yudo, Tae Kwon Do, Hapkido. Would that be a fair assessment? I've also read that energy movement is essential - the idea being to issue forth a large amount of ki in the strike. Is that correct?

BTW - Welcome to Martial Talk!

OP
Ash_MT

Ash_MT

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Yes, that would be correct as far as I understand(the combination of Judo, Tae Kwon Do and Hapkido). I don't know too much about ki as of yet(I've only been to 3 classes so far) but it has come up a little bit in what little training I've had.

Normally I probably would have been a little leery of joining a class I had never heard of before like that, but my friend highly reccomnded it, and the grandmaster is an 8th degree black belt in both Tae Kwon Do and Judo, so he has my full respect, to say the least.

Thanks for the welcome!

Ceicei

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Royal West Martial Arts is a very well known school that have dojangs all over the place where I live. They practice Kyukido. (These dojangs also teach the styles of Tae Kwon Do, Hapkido, and Judo). Their students do well in competition and their techniques and forms are interesting. I've visited their schools.