Kyokushin: can anyone tell me about it?

Gotkenpo

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I came across a Kyokushin Karate school today and it looked pretty interesting. Can anyone tell me about Kyokushin and how it compares to other Japanese styles, particularly JKA Shotokan. I am a disable veteran searching for a martial art to begin studying. I am seriously leaning on starting a new journey in Kenpo Karate with Mr Dennis Conatser here in Phoenix. It might be easier for me to take lunchtime classes with this Kyokushin instructor though. I have studied Shotokan, Tae Kwon Do, and Kenpo all to orange green levels and no higher. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Beau

PGadd

White Belt
Reaction score
From MartialArtsInfo.com:

Martial Arts: Kyokushin Karate Kyokushinkai

Kyokushin is a Karate style that is famous for its knock-down system of fighting. The style is characterized by its tenous training, conditioning and full contact sparring. Kyokushin Karate was developed by Sosei Masutatsu Oyama who in 1964 gave the style the name “Kyojushin”, which translates to “The Ultimate Truth”. Oyama held a 4th Dan in Judo, and also studied Goju Ryu Karate, Shotokan Karate (reaching 4th Dan at the age of 20) and some Korean martial arts which he developed into his own style called Kyokushin-kai (Kyokushin Karate).

Oyama was an extremely strong man who popularised his art by inviting challengers to fight him and through stunts, such as killing bulls with his bare hands. Black belt gradings in Kyokushinkai are well known for their large number of kumite (sparring fights), sometimes as many as a 100.

OP
Gotkenpo

Gotkenpo

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
From MartialArtsInfo.com:

Martial Arts: Kyokushin Karate Kyokushinkai

Oyama held a 4th Dan in Judo, and also studied Goju Ryu Karate, Shotokan Karate (reaching 4th Dan at the age of 20) and some Korean martial arts which he developed into his own style called Kyokushin-kai (Kyokushin Karate).