Kuk Sool Won/Self Defense

mcleod13

Orange Belt
Reaction score
This question is for anyone that can answer. I would really like to hear from some KSW practioners.

I am currently studying TKD and a friend of mine is a 3rd dan in KSW. I have read (on a hostile site) some pretty harsh comments about KSW. I keep reading that KSW is NOT good for self defense. Granted, these comments seem to be coming from those who are only interested in MMA, which I am not. I have no desire. I would really like to learn it for SD purposes.

Is KSW useful for SD?

Last edited by a moderator:

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
The techniques are basically those of Hapkido mixed with some Taekwondo, meaning it's at heart jujutsu plus karate, so they basics are solid. It depends on how it's trained!

Dusty

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Most definately good for self defense. The techniques learned are from wrist grabs, clothing grabs, etc. teaching you principles which at the advanced levels can be applied from any type of technique. kuk sool is an excellent form of self defense. and it does cover some ground work too, Jahp ki, which some of the instructors still have in their curriculum. Jahp ki was taken from ssirium (spelling?) which is korean wrestling.
Dusty, kj

OP
mcleod13

mcleod13

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Most definately good for self defense. The techniques learned are from wrist grabs, clothing grabs, etc. teaching you principles which at the advanced levels can be applied from any type of technique. kuk sool is an excellent form of self defense. and it does cover some ground work too, Jahp ki, which some of the instructors still have in their curriculum. Jahp ki was taken from ssirium (spelling?) which is korean wrestling.
Dusty, kj