Kodanja Test

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I don't have to worry about this for a long time, but I am interested in hearing some accounts from people who may have undergone this test. The Kodanja exam in the Moo Duk Kwan is quite notorious because of its extreme rigor. I have heard that the test in eight days long! And that each day lasts for 12 hours!

Fightfan00

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Wow that is a long time.But can you please answer a stupid question for me and tell me what is a kodanja test?I have no experience in Tang Soo Do so dont be to hard on me.Lol.

G

Galvatron

Ko Dan Ja basically means "Senior Dan Holder". It's generally applied to Master instructors (4th Dan and up).
So the Ko Dan Ja test would be for people testing for 4th Dan and up.

OP
Makalakumu

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score
bignick said:
Man, what could you fill 96 hours of testing with?

THAT has been my question, since the first time I heard of this test. I wonder if we have any members on MT who are Kodanja in Tang Soo Do?

G

Galvatron

bignick said:
Man, what could you fill 96 hours of testing with?

I will undoubtedly draw flak from someone who's taken the Moo Duk Kwan Ko Dan Ja test and feels insulted by this, but I would imagine 96 hours of testing has a lot of useless crap in it that could easily be dropped. I can see a master's testing taking 2 days, maybe three. 8 days falls into the 'absurd' category to me though. But hey, if they have people willingly lining up to take it, then more power to 'em.

kid

Black Belt
Reaction score
its 7 days of drinking then on the 8th day you take your test with a mega hangover.

OP
Makalakumu

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score