Kickboxing + Taekwondo?

Leo89

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I'm currently studying kukkiwon style taekwondo, so far no problems/complaints.

I am however thinking of taking up something a little more aggressive in terms of full contact tournaments.

I'm still just a white belt so obviously this wouldn't be happening right away.

Is it easy to transition from one to the other?

KangTsai

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
If you have kicking down, that's already 1/4 transition done. Now you just need to learn how to box, basic strategy, and get fitness in check.

I have seen many kick boxing fights with ITF and WTF taekwondo black belts; fast kicks and fast movement, but terrible hands, a bad stance, and overconfidence.

Then there are people who integrate taekwondo into their full contact game, such as Dale Cook, who had many victories in spectacular fashion.
Really, it's about how you integrate.

drop bear

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
How often do they train?

And are there any open amateur kickboxing tournaments?

If they compete they train pretty much every day. Our guys who are not tkd guys do 12hrs plus a week.

As far as competitions i have not heard of any turn up on the day style get matched up and fight ones. But there should be a vehicle out there for first time fighters. Have a chat to some fight gyms i suppose.

Kickboxer101

Master Black Belt
Reaction score