Kajukenbo and Tracy's Kenpo

Spartan

Green Belt
Reaction score
I studied a little Tracy's kenpo back in the day and have general idea of what the the system's like. Now I'm thinking about learning kajukenbo from a guy I know. What are the main differences I'll find between these two arts?

Thanks,
Spartan

loyalonehk

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I studied a little Tracy's kenpo back in the day and have general idea of what the the system's like. Now I'm thinking about learning kajukenbo from a guy I know. What are the main differences I'll find between these two arts?

Thanks,
Spartan

Depends on the guy you know - feel free to PM me or Prof Bishop with his name and we should be able to help more.

Kajukenbo is so diverse depending on the method you are going to study. Biggest thing off the bat should be the contact and ground work. Not to mention the Ohana spirit. check out the kajukenbo cafe if you have not already. Theres a link through the blog attached to my signature, and my blog may give you some info also.

Let us know how it goes... No one style is better than the other, just different flavors. Nothing wrong with Tracy's Kenpo - Kaju should fit well.

Enjoy the journey :ultracool

Karatedrifter7

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Having gone the opposite direction from Kajukenbo to Tracy's Kenpo, I notice that the bow stance is everywhere in Kenpo. They have a different variety of stances in Kaju- but they didint seem to use the bow.

Blindside

Grandmaster
Founding Member
Reaction score
I moved from a kajukenbo kenpo (original method) to Tracy's.

Transition was pretty straight forward, many kaju self-defense techs have a pattern; block, hurt the guy, takedown, control/destroy on the ground. Think of "Dance of Death" from the Tracy curricullum.