Just started doing Muay Thai and have huge dark bruises on my thighs..is this normal??

max5212

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi All!

I'm new to Muay Thai and have been doing it for about 2-3 week. At practice we split up into partners and drill kicks. My partner and I are always wearing shin pads and we kick each other just above the knee in the thigh. Not too hard but not too soft either. I noticed that my leg is all bruised up from these drills. Is this normal? Are my legs just starting to get used to being kicked? Also, should i wait till the bruise heals up to go back to class? Any guidance would be appreciated since im concerned at how dark the bruises look.

Thank you!

Scanners107

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi Max,

You will bruse becuase you are getting hit, your legs will condition the more they are hit and will stop brusing as much.

You can go straight back to training as long as there not causing you any great deal of pain. Muay thai is a contact sport and you will get the odd bruses, cuts, bleeds and aches.

Just enjoy it and keep going.

SuperFLY

Green Belt
Reaction score
i got a huge bruise on my arm a few weeks into aikido after spending a full hour and a half blocking strikes and doing techniques. the problem was the guys i was training with were a lot taller than me so trying to get the right angle with the block was difficult and they kept rolling over my arm and hitting the 'less fleshy bit'. the blocks were all effective but harder on my arms than they could have been.

the bruise was huge, very dark and lasted ages but once gone i havent had it since. (just get bruises in other places now, heh)

SensibleManiac

Black Belt
Reaction score
See a doctor and tell him you're doing a contact sport and got this bruise, ask him to check it out and he'll give you the right advice, you should ALWAYS consult with a doc before starting any contact sport.

It's probably nothing though but you should make sure for yourself.