Just saying hello

L

Little_Shoto

After being a lurker for the past few weeks, I finally decided to register.

I started training in Shotokan a little over a month ago (I take my test for my blue belt next week :) )

I look forward to some good discusions on Karate ..and perhaps you all can tell me when my feet will stop hurting!! :rofl:

OP
S

Shoto Tiger

Hiya

Good name by the way :D

You may have a slightly different belt system than myself, but I am surprised you are grading after such a short time? Is this normal? The clubs I have visited here do a grading every 3 months and we do 2 classes of 2 hours a week. Just wondered how often you trained and how long and what your grading included?

Welcome to the board btw...I haven't been here long either but they seem like a real friendly bunch here :)

OP
L

Little_Shoto

Testing is done every 2 months at my school. I suppose I moved along quickly because of my previous experiences in MA. I practiced TKD for approx. 2 years ...but that was a different life time. :)

Our belts are: white, blue, blue, green, purple, brown, black.

As far as class schedule: they are held twice a week. I practice at home for approx. 2 hours a day 3 times a week as well.

OP
L

Little_Shoto

I forgot to add: grading for the first blue (which I am going for) is very easy:

Basic form:
1)lunge punch 4 times going forward and 4 going back
2) rising block 4 times going forward and 4 going back
3) Outside block 4 times going forward and 4 going back
4) Inside-outside block 4 times forward, 4 times back
5) Front snap kick 4 times forward, spin block, 4 more snap kicks, and spin block.

Kata:
Taikyoko Shodon (sp?)

Spirit:
Sensei told us the most important part of this testing period is spirit and understand the basic commands.

OP
S

Shoto Tiger

Thanks Little Shoto,

Sounds very similar to my first grading too. Have you found many similarities at all between TKD and Shoto?

What made you change? Or are you doing both at the same time?