Judo training

Kunoichi

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Just a quick question. I am curious if judo classes begin with a physical workout (press-ups, sit-ups, running etc) or if classes are purely judo techniques (although Im sure these are a tough work-out alone). I know not all dojo's are the same but what is most common?

Thanks in advance

cashwo

Green Belt
Reaction score
I just started taking the Judo class at my school (I've taken 4 classes so far) and since I was the only white belt one of the intructors took me aside and I started learning some of the basic throws and pins first day.

OP
Kunoichi

Kunoichi

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Thanks for the reply.

I was just curious to whether judo - like other sport ma's such as Muay Thai - spends much time on conditioning and fitness or if that is left up to the student.

Regards

bignick

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
My class starts sometimes with some jogging around the dojo, working just some universal footwork things (shuffling, skipping, backwards run, etc) then we do some various stretches and warm up excersizes. We try to get every joint and muscle of the body loosened up. Then we do ukemi, 5 back falls sitting, 5 squatting, 5 standing...the same for right and left side falls. Then we do some more falling drills and some zempo kaiten and then we usually do uchi komi, left and right side, with three throws. Sometimes the instructor picks the throws, sometimes it is up to us. Then the instructor usually has a series of techniques they want to work on and we do that and finish with some randori

cashwo

Green Belt
Reaction score
bignick said: