Jon Bluming and judo?

P

Patrick Skerry

Jon Bluming: Who is this obscure Dutchman and what was his connection to judo?

OP
S

Steve Scott

Patrick,
I'm no expert on Jon Bluming, but he was an interesting individual in his hey day. He is a big, very skilled martial arts man from the Netherlands and he trained at the Kodokan and the top dojos in Japan in the late 1950s and early 1960s if I'm not mistaken. He trained with Donn Draeger, Anton Geesink, Inokuma, Kaminaga and all the top guys of the era.
If you read some old issues of BLACK BELT magazine (from the 1960s and 1970s) there are some articles on Jon Bluming. Also, he's mentioned in some of Donn Draeger's judo books I believe. If I remember right (from reading about it), he had some political differences with the judo federation in the Netherlands and doesn't do judo anymore.
He also affiliated with Mas Oyama in the Kyokushinkai karate system and is a high ranking karate man as well as his judo credentials.
I think he's still alive and doing security work for the roal family in the Netherlands. He would have to be in his mid to late 60s I would imagine.
That's about all I know about him. Definitely an interesting part of judo's history.
Steve

OP
P

Patrick Skerry

Steve Scott said:
Patrick,
I'm no expert on Jon Bluming, but he was an interesting individual in his hey day. He is a big, very skilled martial arts man from the Netherlands and he trained at the Kodokan and the top dojos in Japan in the late 1950s and early 1960s if I'm not mistaken. He trained with Donn Draeger, Anton Geesink, Inokuma, Kaminaga and all the top guys of the era.
If you read some old issues of BLACK BELT magazine (from the 1960s and 1970s) there are some articles on Jon Bluming. Also, he's mentioned in some of Donn Draeger's judo books I believe. If I remember right (from reading about it), he had some political differences with the judo federation in the Netherlands and doesn't do judo anymore.