JKD

Dinkydoo

Purple Belt
Reaction score
So, I had my first JKD lesson tonight and have a few questions that maybe some experienced JKDers could help with:

1) How do I tell what a good JKD club looks like?

2) Will doing JKD and Muay Thai be a waste of time? The JKD structure is very different to my kickboxing stance, I feel as though they probably aren't compatible arts. Anyone here cross trained JKD successfully?

3) Is it supposed to feel like a rigid system in the beginning? Totally contrary to the JKD philosophy of formless, tonight felt more like "right foot is mostly forward, left hand is here, right here"...etc. I appreciate that I am a beginner though.

The Great Gigsy

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Hey Dinkydoo, I have been training JKD for a few years so I will attempt to answer your questions. In regard to the first question, I would say it depends on how you judge the training as being JKD or not. One of the ways I determined my sifu was legit was looking at his lineage as I want as close to Bruce Lee's philosophy. Now keep in mind that was my preference on how I determined if what I was being sold was what I was looking for. I'm sure how to answer your second question, but I will answer based on what I think us being asked. In JKD we do tend to keep a narrow guard, which if I am correct is based on Bruce Lee's wing chung background. Last anything new is going to feel akward at first. If this feeliing is based on the fact that we put our strong side first then by all means train with the side leading is more comfortable. When I started training having my right felt akward and I felt like my pysh step was weak with my left leg so I went back to a left lead. Hope at least some of this helped and feel to ask any questions. I will do my best to help, have fun JKD is awesome.

crazydiamond

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Been training over a year now so I am no expert, but some comments I have.