Japanese terms

karatekid1975

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Hiya all.

I'm new to Shotokan. I am having a hard time pronouncing Japanese terms for techniques, forms, ect. I have a Korean martial arts background, and I have all these Korean terms floating around in my head. I confuse the heck out of sensei when I try to say something in Japanese and it comes out in Korean. I mean, I learned a few words in Japanese from Jujitsu, but it's just words for bow, ready stance, sensei, ect. We don't use Japanese terms other than that.

Anyways, I was wondering if anyone had a site with Japanese terms in audio (mpeg) along with the text in english and Japanese.

Thanks in advance.

meta

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Unfortunately, I don't know any websites with audio files. As for Japanese terms and their English translations, there's a nice thread in this forum:

Japanese MA Terminology

When I started my karate training, I was really worried about not being able to remember all these Japanese terms, but as my training progressed I found that my vocabulary expanded without much conscious effort on my part.

Good luck!

twendkata71

Black Belt
Reaction score
I at one time had all of the Japanese terminology used in the dojo on a cassete tape, but it was lost many years ago. I will look around to see if any of my friends have any Mpeg audio clips that I can link to you.

Shotochem

Purple Belt
Founding Member
Reaction score
Hi Laurie,

How did you end up taking Shotokan? No more TKD or TSD?

I've been a little out of the loop lately. I can help with alot of the terminology even though I am a Shotokan exile.

-Marc-

OP
karatekid1975

karatekid1975

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Hi Laurie,

How did you end up taking Shotokan? No more TKD or TSD?

I've been a little out of the loop lately. I can help with alot of the terminology even though I am a Shotokan exile.

-Marc-