It's a control issue.

ikenpo

Black Belt
Reaction score
Given that we've talked technique lines and touching people...

Just wondering what the philosophy on control was among the instructors present? (if you have one) Do you follow it as well? How do you enforce it? Have you ever gone a little too far? For the others what do you think your instructor's position on control is? Has he clearly stated it? Does he follow his owe rules on control?

jb

JD_Nelson

Green Belt
Founding Member
Reaction score
Given that we've talked technique lines and touching people...

Just wondering what the philosophy on control was among the instructors present? (if you have one) Do you follow it as well? How do you enforce it? Have you ever gone a little too far? For the others what do you think your instructor's position on control is? Has he clearly stated it? Does he follow his owe rules on control?

jb

As a student, I feel like as a class we tend to warm up in power. Althouhg note really ever reprimended, I have at times been asked to lighten up. I dont feel like I am trying to pound on people, but I just like to hit. I dont mind being hit either. I like to test my own pain threshold. There are certain techniques I do not like to have done to me because I always end up at the chiropractor a couple of days afterward. Grip of death just tends to wrench my neck around enough to take everything out of alignment. I do think that this exposure has also helped me to better control my own power in a technique line as well. I can FEEL how effective it is on me so I try not to overkill any tech because of my own fears of being injured.

Sincerely

JD

Michael Billings

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score