Is Muay Thai Too Physically Taxing as I Age?

jurat13

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I want to ask whether you believe that a person is at greater risk of injury, or loss of recuperation time when practicing Muay Thai over the age of 30?

I am currently 31. I studied Muay Thai under the Jeet June Do system when I was 20 for about two years. I enjoyed Muay Thai and thought it was extremely practical. Back then I sparred against other martial arts stylists and fared very well.

But now that I am getting older, and want to return to Martial Arts I am considering taking a style that may be less physically taxing/demanding. (I don't want to list those styles right now, because I don't want anyone to infer that I believe they are somehow weaker, and take offense, etc).

I still feel that I am athletic, I am 6'1" 220, run about 3 miles a week, lift weights, and all that stuff. But I am thinking about when I turn 40 plus, etc.

What are your thoughts? Am I worrying prematurely about nothing? I guess I have the same question for Boxing (which I also love) so I may post this there too.

Best regards,

Walter Boyd

elder999

El Oso de Dios!
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I What are your thoughts? Am I worrying prematurely about nothing? I guess I have the same question for Boxing (which I also love) so I may post this there too.

Best regards,

Walter Boyd

Everyone is different, but,dude-you're only 30 :rolleyes::lol::lol::lol::rolleyes:, and you've stayed in shape. Try it and find out.(For what it's worth, I still train pretty hard from time to time, and I'm 47....)

tntma12

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Age is just a number. All you can do is try. 31 is not old at all though. Some would even consider 31 to be prime. If you still want to train, I say, go for it.

savior

Green Belt
Reaction score
Muay thai will keep you young and on your toes, literally

..n..

White Belt
Reaction score
you'll be fine. im' 30 and i haven't died yet :wink1: