Introduction/ Question

J

Jason Davis

Hi, I've been on the forum for about a week now and I think it is the best forum on the net. I was viewing some of the old threads and saw where people introduced themselves and thought mabey i should.

I am 21 so still very young in the martial arts world. I have been training martial arts for many years.

I live in the suburbs and here there aren’t any good martial arts studios. Before people say “how do you know?” I’ve gone to all of them and checked them out. They are all very profit driven and belt based. This was very unfortunate since I have always had a strong interest in martial arts.

However, I have been very fortunate to meet 2 very qualified teachers. One of them has studied the Shaolin 5 animal system for many years (15 or so). The other one was a bouncer for 15 years and has studied Xing Yi, Small Circle Ju-Jitsu, Escrima, Baji, and Chen style Tai chi for over 20 years all together.

Both of my instructors have a great deal of skill and are very qualified to teach. However, Neither of them knows a whole lot about their lineages. They mainly just know about their teachers and their technique.

I have studied with both of my teachers for quite some time now and I am very happy with the results I have gotten from training with them. One of the Reasons that I believe I have had very good results in such a short period of time is I am basically both of my teachers only student. Every time I go to train I am the only one getting any instruction and they are basically just training me to have some one to practice their arts with (and I practice with each of them about two or three times a week). I am very pleased with this arrangement.