In the woods - trying something a bit different

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I started playing around with one of my hiking shots, and tried to make it look like the inky, monochromatic print that may have been found in an adventure magazine or wilderness guide from the 50s or 60s.

Feedback appreciated :)

4506839186_5d1e887d26.jpg

ShelleyK

Brown Belt
Reaction score
Great post processing....however may I offer some advice here?

When you have a horizon...in your case its the "end" of the trail...you will want it on the lower or upper 1/3 of the photo and not smack in the middle....the reason is that the eye tends to "sweep" over the photo in a circular motion and the eye needs to be "led" into the shot. In this photo its all in the center so the eye doesnt completely see the upper or lower portions....

I can give you an example if you want me too

OP
Carol

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score

When you have a horizon...in your case its the "end" of the trail...you will want it on the lower or upper 1/3 of the photo and not smack in the middle....the reason is that the eye tends to "sweep" over the photo in a circular motion and the eye needs to be "led" into the shot. In this photo its all in the center so the eye doesnt completely see the upper or lower portions....

Thanks!! I love advice! If you can, I'd love to see an example :)

ShelleyK

Brown Belt
Reaction score
Ok here is a great example of "perspective" You see how the walkway leads your eye to the top of the photo where there is a burst of color? Then your eye travels back to the walkway...sweeping over the photo :)

4518249903_6b7010146e_o.jpg

ShelleyK

Brown Belt
Reaction score
Imagine a tic tac toe grid over your photo...