im new to karate..

H

hand2handCombat

i heard lots of bash about karate, but im not gonna listen. i hear theres some cheap cheezy karate out there that doesnt teach anything. but i hear there are others that are pure karate, that will make u fast and have practical move. can someone please post some of the real styles of karate. please thanks

OP
T

tmanifold

It is less about styles then about schools and instructors. Just research the school first. Does it water down the training to make it easier for women, children (not that women can't do real Karate but a lot of schools will water down the classes to make it "more accessable to both sexes"), do they guarntee a black belt in one or 2 years, do they teach overly complex self defence routines.
Also make sure the schools aims are the same as your own. Whether sport, self defence, kata or as a way of life, karate has many different aims. Make sure the instructors aim is the same as yours. Also make sure they teach a style. I am very weary or people who say.
"We teach karate"
"What kind of Karate?"
"We just teach Karate"

Tony

ps. If you see a crane kick, run!:rofl:

OP
K

Kenpo Wolf

Originally posted by tmanifold

Also make sure they teach a style. I am very weary or people who say.
"We teach karate"
"What kind of Karate?"
"We just teach Karate"

I very much agree with this comment. If they can't specify what style they teach, I would not waste any more of my time and walk out the door. Any real martial artist, no flames please , would not only know what style they practice but they would also be able to give you a brief history is so asked

OP
C

Chiduce