I'm a beginner to muay thai :) and a couple of questions :P

Burbankian

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello,

I just started Muay Thai around last week, with the main reason to lose weight
I planned to train muay thai, 6x a week then rest at sundays

but after a while, I feel my feet hurting from kicking heavy bags, around the ankle, I do think that it is normal

My question is, should I just bear it and continue to train 6x a week?
or should I abandon my plan for 6x a week to 3-4x a week resting between days so my feet can recover?

rest days are important, but I'm new to this, so I'm not so sure what to do ?_? I don't know what would be more fruitful

I want to be in Muay thai for the long run, I want to continue it even after I lose weight, sparring is fun :)

Tony Dismukes

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Assuming you're mostly training round kicks to hit the bag, then you should be feeling the soreness in your shins rather than your feet. The primary striking surface for the Muay Thai round kick is the shin. If you are hitting with your feet, then adjust your range until you have the right striking surface.

That aside, it's not a bad idea to scale back your practice a bit until your body has a chance to adapt to the new training regimen. Otherwise you may be breaking down your body faster than your system can build it back up.

(Another point to consider: if you are doing the kicks correctly you should be pivoting on your support foot with each kick. If you are doing this barefoot, then training 6x per week in your first week is likely to produce blisters which may end up limiting your training. If you take the time to build up callouses gradually, then this shouldn't be as much of a problem.)

Cyriacus

Senior Master
Reaction score