How to Find Local Training Partners?

Volodya

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi there, I am studying the IKCA Kenpo online curriculum and need a training partner. I just don't have time with work and three kids to commit to a dojo. Does anyone know of a portal where I might find martial artists in the Northern Virginia area who might want to get together and train? Doesn't have to be kenpo; in fact, would be interesting to practice with someone from another style. Thanks!

jobo

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Local MMA gym.
this really, the easiest way to find ma, is to join a club, you dont have to attend regularly, in fact popping in to club once a month might be a good reality check on your progress. Make a few " friends"and,see if any one wants to meet up for a bit of practise

Headhunter

Senior Master
Reaction score
As a place to find someone willing to meet up to train. More likely (I'd expect) at an MMA gym than most TMA schools.
Yeah well the guys been learning kenpo online probably not the best idea to jump in with an Mma guy when he's not even done partner work before let alone sparring.

Gerry Seymour

MT Moderator
Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Yeah well the guys been learning kenpo online probably not the best idea to jump in with an Mma guy when he's not even done partner work before let alone sparring.
It would give him a chance to find out his limitations. MMA guys aren't necessarily going to eat him alive. If his training is only online, even a low-ranking Kempo partner isn't going to be much help unless they spend a lot of time working together (which he doesn't want to commit time to).

Gerry Seymour

MT Moderator
Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score