How to Combine Wing Chun with Aikido

Discussion in 'MartialTalk Magazine Articles' started by matrixman, Jan 20, 2010.

1. matrixman

matrixman Yellow Belt

Most martial arts don’t fit together in an easy fashion. You take the circular hands of kenpo Karate and try to put them atop the linear stances of hard core shotokan, and you are going to get an uncoordinated mish mash. Or, the fast and hard jabs of boxing might fit with wing chun, but the round house power punches don’t fit at all.

And, occasionally, there are going to be arts that do fit together easily. You can put aikido together with the martial arts of pa kua chang, but it is going to take logic and discipline to categorize individual techniques. And, this leaves the developer with a problem of how do you teach the resulting art without confusing.

That all said, I was taking an Aikido class one day, I was a mere beginner in that art, though I had seven years of kenpo and karate and a bit of wing chun. So they asked me to partake in randori. which is the freestyle aikido employs to train students. And, it was a sad experience, at best.

I didn’t want to give them my punches, karate had taught me to lock my stance down, and the result was that nobody could throw me, and the give and take of the randori exercise wasn’t working. I hold fault with no one, it was mixing claymores and corkscrews, and one could argue they should have been able to make their art work, but I should have been able to work with them. Interestingly, after class things became interesting.

One of the higher ranked black belts, name of Paul, came up to me and wondered where the breakdown had been. Lower black belts kept their distance, but he wanted to learn, and that was the mark of a higher level belt.