How good is systema groundfighting compared to Jujutsu or Brazilian jujutsu?

Streetfigher2006

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I posted a thread in the Japanese martial arts area but was told to post it here and see the responses. I have been trying to find an art that does decent street groundfighting. I am not talking sport groundfighting i'm talking life or death stuff. I recently discovered a jujutus class however the school is too far from me to travel and as a student I don't have the money to travel 30 or so miles for a jujutsu class. I saw an add in the paper about systema's art. Apparently they cover groundfighting and its meant to be a highly adaptive art since they use it in the military. I don't know wheather or not its true that they really use it in the spetnaz but it sounds good. It could be just good marketing. Anyway it is the Ryabko style systema and its just 10 mins away from my flat.. It sounded pretty good but I wanted to know what the opinion of the board is. Is there anyone that has done both arts that can give a decent comparison Thanks.

Touch Of Death

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
For some reason BJJ does not focus on leg locks. This is bad if you want to learn leg lock counters from BJJ but I feel it is a strong base.
Sean

D Dempsey

Green Belt
Reaction score
Streetfigher2006 said:
Apparently they cover groundfighting and its meant to be a highly adaptive art since they use it in the military.

This isn't really a good reason. I'm in the U.S. Army and our combative style is highly based off of BJJ. So following that logic you could say the exact same thing about BJJ. If you want to learn to be a good ground fighter go find a decent BJJ, Judo, or Sambo school. I'm not saying that systema is a bad art or anything I'm just saying that ground fighting isn't what they train for all of the time.

NYCRonin

Purple Belt
MTS Alumni
Reaction score