How does a bad teacher/student relationship affect your MA training? A rant!

K

Kiz Bell

Hi!

OK, we are always hearing how the martial arts will lift one's self esteem, but has anyone had the reverse happen? I'm just coming back to the martial arts after a considerable break and not without a great deal of trepidation.

I had been training with my last dojo for a few years and everything had been going reasonably fine. My teacher, who was also head of the dojo, always did have a bit of a "flirts for techniques" policy, but I'm a pretty strong willed person and thought that I was able to handle it. We even managed to strike up a friendship of a sorts. ( Though I'd like to add at this point that I was the only female in any of his classes.)

Well, like I said, for the first few years everything was sort of OK, then quite suddenly his attitude toward me changed. He started treating me pretty badly, being rude to me, refusing to teach me in class etc etc. When I asked him about this he told me that nothing had changed, he had no problems with me at all. Worst of all was when I found out that he'd spread some pretty vile and reprehisible rumours about me. And not just in his dojo either, but to other instructors in the wider MA community. Thankfully, it turns out that to many people this guy's word is NOT his bond and not everyone believed what he had to say. The whole thing really destroyed my trust in anyone calling themselves a "sensei", and left a bad taste in my mouth about the whole martial arts scene. I havent trained for years, but missed my art too much to stay away forever, so here I am again.

I know this has been quite a rant and rave, but I really wanted to get it all off my chest before I really started training again. I can't talk about this to my friends 'cause they think all martial artists are loonies anyway.

I'd really like to know if anyone else has had a baaaad martial arts experience like this, or am I alone in this?