How do you find time to train?

PeaceWarrior

Green Belt
Reaction score
I am a college student enrolled in 13 credit hours, with a full time job where I work 38-40 hours a week. I also have a girlfriend and a family to spend time with. I go to my Wing Chun class usually twice a week, which is not as much "hard training" as it is learning, and we are expected to train hard and practice what we have learned outside of class (like homework). For me, a good training session would last at least 2 hours, and a really good one would be 3-5 hours, five days a week. With my current schedule, I am lucky to get 30 minutes of training a day.

How am I supposed to reach my goals at this rate? On one hand, I am faced with attending college and getting a degree (which was mostly imposed by my family), but on the other hand, what I really want to do with my life is to constantly learn and teach Martial Arts. I want to become as high level as my Sifu, and he trained 5 hours a day when he was my age. Why cant I just study martial arts as my 'degree'? Its what I am passionate about, and right now school seems like so much drudgery and useless knowledge to me. So what do you guys think I should do to make time? I need to get college out of the way, but what is the point if all I can think about is training?

Sigh...

tshadowchaser

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
get your education

you are young and have a long time to learn the martial arts. You can still teach the arts if that is your wish but I suggest geting a degree and haveing something to fall back on or to do till your calss size reaches the point where it will support you and a family

Drac

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Shadowchaser is correct..Get your education..

Question: "How do you find time to train??

Answer: It aint easy...