Hosting Audio Files

Sukerkin

Have the courage to speak softly
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I am assuming that Cap'n Bob's budget will not stretch to hosting audio and video files directly on MT.

So, at the risk of sounding like a n00b {I'm not but I'm an engineer not a media studies guy}, what's the most convenient way of hosting music files, say, so that I can link to them here at MT?

Bob Hubbard

Retired
MT Mentor
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
if they're legal to post online, youtube works. Zshare, dropbox, and file share sites also work (as long as they are legal).

I've got server space to spare right now, as long as they are legal, you should be able to attach them to posts. I might have to bump up the file size settings a bit.

OP
Sukerkin

Sukerkin

MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Coolness - what I have in mind to link is a version of Phantom of the Opera I have performed by some friends of mine. It's a early version they did that I think is superior by far to the one they link on-line :).

Haakon

Blue Belt
Reaction score
If you have a Hotmail account you could put them on your Skydrive and share them. They wouldn't stream like from Youtube, people would have to download then listen, but it would work, and it's free.

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I believe Gmail docs also lets you store and share files. Could be wrong, only done it a few times.

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I bet it does. We have google as our corporate mail/docshare backbone -- the paid version of google docs definitely lets you share files, I'd be surprised if the non-corporate version didn't let a user do that..

OP
Sukerkin

Sukerkin

MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score