Hiya guys :)

_Simon_

Senior Master
Reaction score
Hi all! :) I'm new here and thought I'd say hey. My name is Simon from Australia, my background is primarily in two martial arts, many years ago I trained about 2.5 years in Go Kan Ryu karate, took an extended break not planning to go back, then really was keen to start training in a different style.

I trained in Kyokushin Karate (under Shihancho Gary Viccars' branch) for about 7-8 years, attained 4th Kyu (definitely took my time ;) ), and after much time and reflection found myself losing interest in Kyokushin. There was definitely a shift within myself, and I felt I could no longer do that style of training. I'd always pushed myself too hard in life and really put too much pressure on myself, and just in general haven't been very kind to myself. And Kyokushin has a real emphasis on pushing yourself to absolute extremes and incredibly hard training. A very 'yang' approach. I am very grateful and I have learned a tremendous amount about myself in Kyokushin, but definitely feel it's time to move on.

So it made total sense that my interest in Kyokushin dwindled, as I felt I could no longer do that to myself. And midway through last year I was quite unwell (and still am) with a severe pelvic condition (pelvic floor tension myalgia), which is just the muscles in the pelvis being too tight, which was FURTHER feedback that I was far too hard on myself, and I had a pattern of overtension.

I left Kyokushin at the end of 2016 and took a year off in 2017, just doing my own home training, which I highly recommend, it was a great learning experience.