Hip/Pelvis Problem

KenpoTess

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Ok, I have no idea what happened .. I sparred last night and nothing out of the ordinary.. I didn't throw many kicks as I was working on hand techniques. This morning I got up as usual with no indication of what was to come. Seig got home from work and I was helping hold one dog as he brought one back in the house. Suddenly my right hip/femur area gave out.. sending pins & needles down my leg.. Being a nurse I understand the possibilites but I am a terrible patient. I have had no back pain in over a year and this hip thing concerns me.. Plus I have no insurance and am not about to run to the docs for every problem. I'm ok sitting in a chair..no pain.. then I try to stand up.. and am fine for a couple of steps.. then it gives out again.. I can stand on my leg ok.. it's trying to walk then it ..'grabs' and I have to sit right back down. Glad I have a pair of crutches here. Anybody else have such a thing?

Thanks
Tess

Nightingale

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Tess, this isn't just a problem, its a big problem. if it was just a sprain/strain, it wouldn't be giving out like that, it'd just hurt.

hie thyself to thy physician forthwith!

best of luck.

-N-

T

theneuhauser

hey, is it feeling better now?

dont hold out-if you havent seen a doctor yet.

T

theneuhauser

oh yeah, btw

is it the femoral nerve thats piching?

its pretty common for martial artists to have periformis muscles that tighten up or injure, causing the nerves in the thigh to freak, out. a good proffessional massage could fix this.

also, the iliopsoas muscle(probably misspelled) can pull your low back out of alignment. its an uncomfortable massage, but it works great for low back and hip pain. there are also just a few very effective stretches for that.

S

sweeper

Originally posted by nightingale8472