Hi

Blues

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi everybody, I was looking for a martial arts forum and I've found you.
I have limited experience in martial arts: in fact, I've been in this world for roughly 3 years. I've started practising Aikido, but I'm studying kenjutsu by my self (we do very little kenjutsu lectures in our dojo). That being said, I've started to add weight, reaching a point where I use a "hell no" 2 kg, heavily unbalanced bokuto.

English is not my first language, so I'll try to do my best in order to help or/and understand advices from others in this community.

Buka

Sr. Grandmaster
Staff member
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Welcome to MartialTalk, Blues. :)

Tony Dismukes

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Welcome to MartialTalk! Hope you enjoy it. We have practitioners here of various forms of Aikido and a few students of assorted sword arts as well.

(we do very little kenjutsu lectures in our dojo).
English is not my first language, so I'll try to do my best in order to help or/and understand advices from others in this community.

Your English seems pretty good (certainly much better than I can manage in any other language). If you don't mind a minor tip for clarity's sake, you would normally say "kenjutusu lessons" or "kenjutsu classes" in this context. "Lectures" would be more like an academic setting where the instructor stood up front and talked about kenjutsu, but you didn't get to actually practice any techniques.

(If you want to be really grammatically precise, you would say "few kenjutsu classes," but what you wrote is perfectly understandable. Even some native speakers sometimes mix up when to use "few" vs. "little.")

Jenna

Senior Master
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Hi everybody, I was looking for a martial arts forum and I've found you.