Hi I am new to the MA

Carbon

Blue Belt
Reaction score
HI I am new to the MA. I have always been interested and used to take classes at my private school back in austin but they were shall we say? "FAKE" I mean I remember playing games where all we would do is run back and forth across this parking lot for 30 minutes and then we would do forms, then we would break fake pieces of wood and then we would test for our belts like every 2 weeks or something. I think I went form white to orange to yellow. I always have watched kung fu movies and I am wanting to train in the martial arts but I can't decide. I am going to college next year and there is a swordmanship class there that I am going to look at and if I like it I'll probably take it. Other than that I would like an art that doesn't have fancy kicking ;) I am just here to introduce myself since I've been reading these forums for awhiling but never said anything.

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Welcome! I studied iaido in college and really liked it. Will you be attending college in an area with lots of choices for martial arts training?

OP
C

Carbon

Blue Belt
Reaction score
I am not sure the first college pick I am planning to go to is University of North Texas in denton. I am not sure what it has there my cousin and my sister are going there and I think a lot of my friends will be going there and I hope it will be fun. I haven't really tried to find information on it yet. Fancy kicking I don't know why seems like it would be cool but I think its hard to get alot of power from kicking so high and in the air like at someone's face. I know it would hurt but if they ducked and mearly shoved you after stepping in while you kicking like on Lionheart that guy tries to kick him and he grabs his leg and punches him in the balls. I know this would be hard to do but funny to see :)

Dronak

Black Belt
Founding Member
Reaction score