Hi ALL! New guy here...

Montana

White Belt
Reaction score
I just joined this site (long time member of another site which is getting a bit boring...lol.

Just a bit of my MA background.

I started training in Okinawan Shorin Ryu Matsumura Seito Karate and Kobudo from Sensei Denny Miller in Havre, MT in January 1975 after a stint in the Army. I received my Shodan in June 1978 from Master Kuda Yuichi of Okinawa then shortly afterwards moved to a small farm town to teach my first year of school (Jr High). After 1 year (it was horrible) I moved back to Havre and found other employment. Shortly afterwards, Sensei Miller moved to Minnesota and the senior student, 2nd Dan Pat Wright, declined to take over the class, so I and another shodan did.

YADDA YADDA YADDA...a long story shortened, I received my 2nd and 3rd Dans from Sensei Greg Ohl of Minnesota, and my 4th Dan from Sensei Larry Mason in 2004.

Shortly afterwards I was forced to "retire" from the arts do to a chronic, non matial arts related back injury and arthritis in both knees. I haven't run my own class since then, but continue to practice some kata and basics when I feel the "need".

I was a very active tournament (all styles) judge and referee from 1980-2004 for sparring and kata (both empty hand and weapons).

I m currently 63 years old, married to my 2nd wife, have 2 grown sons, 2 black labs and a German Sheperd, 4 horses, 2 cats and a bunch of fish.

MartialMasters

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I joined recently, too...this site definitely has a more lively feel than others I've seen!

Non-martial arts injuries are a major bother. People always ask me "Isn't martial arts dangerous or worrying, since you're a musician?" And I always answer..."I've injured myself far worse from repetitive strain in music than I've ever done with martial arts. If anything, the physical training is making me stronger!"

Welcome!

Jenna

Senior Master
MT Mentor
Reaction score