Hello

advfhorn

White Belt
Reaction score
I am new to this site. I have been training Goju Ryu for 6 years (along with our son and my husband) and I started Shorin-Ryu Shorinkan 3 months ago (by myself without my family).

I am now 43 years old (female) and my joints definitely do not like the Goju Ryu dojo as much as they did 6+ years ago. I may fully switch (although I am just shy of my black belt) simply because I fear major injury.

Monkey Turned Wolf

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
What sort of injuries are you fearing that you think won't come up in shorin-ryu karate?

Buka

Sr. Grandmaster
Staff member
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Welcome to Martial Talk, advfhorn.

_Simon_

Senior Master
Reaction score
Yes! Another karate-ka!

Welcome to the forum :). Just work within your limits and be aware of how your body reacts in training. Sometimes you learn what too far is only by accidently or unknowingly going there. Look into injury prevention or "bulletproofing" exercises too. Stay safe :)

OP
A

advfhorn

White Belt
Reaction score
What sort of injuries are you fearing that you think won't come up in shorin-ryu karate?
1. my Goju Ryu dojo does throws (opposed to sweeps) and I have been injured several times with that
2. The Shorin Ryu dojo does "soft blocking" and does more "Tai Sabaki" (body shifting) opposed to the Go Ju Ryu dojo is more about conditioning the body to take impact
3. The Go Ju Ryu dojo does a lot of lower stances which are very tough on my swollen knees
4. The Go Ju Ryu dojo does many calisthenics which just always seem to leave me more hurting than stronger

OP
A

advfhorn

White Belt
Reaction score
Welcome to the board.

Do ya'll compete any?
I have done two tournaments in the 6.5 years. First one was early on, there were 3 people totally in 35+ age group, me and two men. I took 2nd place kata and kumite the guy kicked my butt (so much for the "light contact rule".