Hello!

Reeksta

Green Belt
Reaction score
Just wanted to say hello as I've recently begun training wing chun and will probably be pestering you guys for advice from this point on.
My background is mainly judo and freestyle wrestling (the latter of which I still do) but have always been interested in WC and started studying under Shaun Rawcliffe about 5 weeks ago.
So far I'm finding it very interesting. Even the basics (I've only covered the stance, straight punching, turning and footwork thus far) are very challenging to pick up but I'm in no rush and my instructors are very helpful.
Thanks for reading and any tips will be gratefully accepted.
Reeksta

Last edited:

Tez3

Sr. Grandmaster
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hello! that's a serious instructor you have! :)

Danny T

Senior Master
Reaction score
You should find wc is an excellent compliment to your judo and wrestling. Stay relaxed, learn to feel the movements and positions. Understand and control the line, intercept and exploit the opponent's movement. Have fun.

OP
Reeksta

Reeksta

Green Belt
Reaction score
Thanks guys. Staying relaxed is one of the hardest things so far. I find it particularly difficult to keep my shoulder relaxed whilst punching but my fellow students assure me that it will come with time

donald1

Senior Master
Reaction score
Thanks guys. Staying relaxed is one of the hardest things so far. I find it particularly difficult to keep my shoulder relaxed whilst punching but my fellow students assure me that it will come with time
with practice it will get easier :)

tshadowchaser

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum.
Wing chun has always fascinated me but I have never been near an instructor You are lucky to be able to study it

geezer

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
...Wing chun has always fascinated me but I have never been near an instructor You are lucky to be able to study it