Handgun Disarms

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
This question was asked on another forum, however, it didn't get as many replies as I thought, so I figured I'd ask here. :)

The question is as follows:

1) What are some often neglected points when working gun disarms?

2) Did you ever notice any impractical methods of application? If so, explain.

For the sake of discussion, we can use the Parker 'rod' techniques as a base. If there are any Tracy Kenpo and Kaju folks that would like to chime in, please feel free to do so. :)

l_uk3y

Green Belt
Reaction score
Possible area of neglected point?!?!

Whilst I have little experience with gun disarms and almost no real life gun experience compared to a lot of you. Our old Wing Chun teacher whom was in the army at one point in his life explained that it isn't just the bullet you need to to worry about. But the Force around it as well (Don't know the word I need)

E.G You move sideways out of the path of a shotgun from point blank. It fires. The shot misses. However unless you get your head infront of the barrels exit then there is a soundwave/air disturbance with enough force to cause concussion.

As I said I can't confirm this. However I would love to hear from those more experienced to confirm or dismiss this.

Luke

LawDog

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
The most often over looked part of gun disarms are,
*type of firearm, revolver, semi auto, long gun,
*height of weapon on opponent and you,
*distance from weapon,
*opponents body language, confident vs nervous,
*muzzle flash, extrem high temp's, kept away from eyes, face, burn skin,
*sound, can blow out your ear drums,
*concussion, can destroy your eyes, hearing,
**Instructors with no street experience teaching "in the street" this will happen and that will happen,
** Instructors with little or no knowledge of the weapon.
:ultracool

Drac

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score