Guns + Martial Arts...

D

David4516

This is the first MA site I've seen with a firearms section. This suprised me because many martial artists I've met seem to think that guns are "unfair" and don't require "any skill".

I've also met gun people who think that Martial Arts are dumb. They say things like "if you have a gun you can just shoot the bad guy, so why learn Karate/TKD/Kungfu/whatever?".

It is however my opinion that guns and the Martial arts are both important asepcts to self defense, and thus I carry a concealed handgun (yes I do have a CHL). I think that you'll never know what kind of situation you'll find yourself in and that the more tools you have to work with, the better.

In fact I started learning a MA because I planned on carrying a gun. I didn't want to rely 100% upon the gun, because there are some times when I can't have it with me (like on my college campus). Also, if the only tool you've got is a hammer, all your problems will look like nails...

So I just wanted to say that I'm glad I'm not the only one on the face of the planet that is interested in both.

Tgace

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Fighting is fighting...a gun is just a tool like a sword, stick or sai.

KenpoTex

Senior Master
Reaction score
David4516 said:
It is however my opinion that guns and the Martial arts are both important asepcts to self defense, and thus I carry a concealed handgun (yes I do have a CHL). I think that you'll never know what kind of situation you'll find yourself in and that the more tools you have to work with, the better.
My sentiments exactly!

David4516 said:
Also, if the only tool you've got is a hammer, all your problems will look like nails...
If you hadn't used this quote, I would have.:)

David4516 said:
So I just wanted to say that I'm glad I'm not the only one on the face of the planet that is interested in both.