FMAT: Knife making

Clark Kent

<B>News Bot</B>
Reaction score
Knife making
By TaskForce3Tango - 08-15-2012 01:09 PM
Originally Posted at: FMATalk

====================

Okay so I've searched to see if this has been discussed before.

So how many of you make your own knives?
What kind of tools do you use? In my younger days I was a machinist. I can think of many ways to create a precision blade. However I want to dumb it down as much as possible. Do it old skool if you will. Tools I think of are grinders, files, saw, drill, stones, and blacksmithing items, anvil, hammers, fire pit, and forging.

What kind of metal do you work with?

However with todays modern tool steels do you even need to got through the tempering process? I dont see why it would hurt, but it just seems like it would almost be a waste of time.

Any input?

Read More...

------------------------------------
FMATalk.com Post Bot - FMA Feed

David43515

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I used to work for a proffesional custom knife shop. We generally used tool sttels in bar stock and did all our shaping with grinders. We genearlly used A-2, D-2, ATS-34, and O-1. We had some 5160 around to try out new designs because it was cheaper. Personally I prefered working with air hardening steels, Oil hardening is messy and smelly. And if the blade slightly twists or bends in the cooling process,I can tweak a dry blade while it's still warm much easier than one covered in oil. But even with modern steels you deffinately need to temper them.