Fighting stance question....

T

Tony Starks

When im sparring and im in my fighting stance, i seem to bounce around and at time go in circles. Now my question is, is better to stand still and then strike or is it better to move around. I wanted to know how all of u felt about this and what u think is effective (im kinda new to martial arts).

Thx
-T.S.

OP
S

Shinzu

i hard question for me to answer tony. i have seen many people "bounce" when they fight and i have seen others stay flat footed. i feel that when i "bounce" i am more off balance. i tend to stay flat footed, but i move around alot. i am not sure what is better. i guess it depends on your fighting preference.
whatever makes you a better fighter in the end is what you should go with.

OP
S

Senfeng

Sometimes I shift my stance to entice my opponent to "attempt" to sweep me. I'm usually moving in or around my opponent. This may be just me, but I've noticed that when I stay still, my opponent is better prepared for my attack. He can easily pick up any movement I make.

OP
S

Shinzu

good point. there is always room for improvement in my fighting techniques :)

OP
E

Elfan

Well the alternative to circling with them is having them behind you which is probably a lot worse.

The stability vs. mobility (ie a low stance vs dancing around like a boxer) is something that you have to varry with the situation and environment. I don't think I would ever bounce around though.

Did that adress what you were asking?

OP
T

Tony Starks

yes it did, thx a lot for the replies

OP
C

chufeng

Tony,

Those who bounce are easy targets...it is simply a matter of timing your attack on the bounce up...once they are moving up, they cannot change directions (if you telegraph your technique, though, you may walk into a kick...be careful).

Those who are "flat-footed" might be easy targets, too...it depends on whether they are loading their stance or just standing in a "dead stance."