Fast Advancement

Thelardking

White Belt
Reaction score
I'm a beginner in MA and I haven't looked into too many different styles. I'm also looking for fast (Very fast) advancement since I need to apply to med school in a year and I wish to obtain an advanced belt (Brown?) in that time to pad my resume. I'm athletic and solid built, and I learn movements (katas or techniques) quickly. Is there a martial art that's suitable for fast advancement?

I realize this question may come off as if I don't really take MA as an art form, but rather as a resume booster. Reality is I do enjoy martial arts, and I know i'll keep taking it for years to come. However, I need to meet my immediate goal as well, or at least give it my best shot. Thanks in advance for any help or advice!

SFC JeffJ

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Find something that you like and work your *** off would be my advice.

Jeff

CoryKS

Senior Master
Reaction score
Fast advancement... med school... thanks, I'm going to have "Crash Course in Brain Surgery" running in my head for the rest of the day.

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
You can get a brown belt on the Internet for anywhere from $2.95 to custom embroidered belts that can be more than $100 ... good luck!

and if you are REALLY in a hurry, ask them to Fed-Ex, for when it absolutely positively has to be there overnight...

Big Don

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
I'm a beginner in MA and I haven't looked into too many different styles. I'm also looking for fast (Very fast) advancement since I need to apply to med school in a year and I wish to obtain an advanced belt (Brown?) in that time to pad my resume. I'm athletic and solid built, and I learn movements (katas or techniques) quickly. Is there a martial art that's suitable for fast advancement?