Dojang Etiquette: Students teaching students.

Notaninja

White Belt
Reaction score
I am a newcomer to the world of TKD. My background is in aikido.

When I was a student in aikido, we were always told not to instruct or correct our fellow students. Instruction and correction was reserved for black belts. If you were having trouble, you were to figure it out yourself or get a black belt's attention. If your training parrtner was screwing up, you couldn't say anything about it to him. The assumption was that, as a student, you didn't necessarily know everything you thought you knew, especially with regards to aikido, and you could easily give your partner the wrong information or waste time on words that don't end up helping him at all and just delay the resolution of the problem.

I was wondering if this was a thing anyone has ever heard of in taekwondo. I ask because recently a fellow student (an orange belt) corrected me (a white belt) on a stretching exercise (a stretching exercise!). I was initially pretty offended that this lowbie would correct me on this, but then I realized that this was a bit irrational and the same rules in my former aikido dojo probably didn't apply here and might be completely unnecessary with this art.

Drose427

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score
I am a newcomer to the world of TKD. My background is in aikido.

When I was a student in aikido, we were always told not to instruct or correct our fellow students. Instruction and correction was reserved for black belts. If you were having trouble, you were to figure it out yourself or get a black belt's attention. If your training parrtner was screwing up, you couldn't say anything about it to him. The assumption was that, as a student, you didn't necessarily know everything you thought you knew, especially with regards to aikido, and you could easily give your partner the wrong information or waste time on words that don't end up helping him at all and just delay the resolution of the problem.