Does this actaully work for Self Defense

ziason

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I have been studing SKK for several years now in a local Villari School and I am currently a Blue Belt. I have to ask, Does this actually work for self defense? Some of the techniques I know can be effective, but a great deal of what I have seen, seems unpractical. In addition to my class training and seminars I have attended, I have the Villari DVD set White to Black Belt, and I must say it is not that impressive. It is all too choreographed. Many of the moves seem much too long and compilcated to be efective in a real fight. Since Villaris stresses that this is supposed to be self defense, I keep trying to evaluate what I'm being taught with a critical eye toward practical application, and many times it comes up short. I'd like to get some feedback from other people. Has anyone here ever actaully used any of this to defend themselves, and if so how well did it work?

Floating Egg

Blue Belt
Reaction score
I know very little about the martial art that you practice, but if I were you, I'd trust my instincts about the self-defense portion.

Drac

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
If a technique is applied properly based on the type of attack it will work, reguardless WHAT system/discpline it is taken from...My 2 cents...

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score